Collection Spotlight: Kamesa Evette Carter

The FWA Board of Directors wants to showcase our winning Collections authors. Please read Kamesa Evette Carter’s winning short story. A Teen Mom Starts Over As a kid, I was a fan of the Choose Your Own Adventure series of books. I liked choosing what direction the story took to its ultimate end. Once, I was eaten by a shark. Another time, I was betrayed by a friend and locked in a dungeon. Of course, I liked the ending where … Read More »

Royal Palm Literary Award Winners Announced

Drum roll, please! Announcing the winners of the 2015 Royal Palm Literary Awards! Drum roll, indeed! We have the results of the Florida Writers Association’s largest, most competitive Royal Palm Literary Awards (RPLA) competition in history. The winners were announced during the special awards banquet, part of FWA’s four-day annual conference in Altamonte Springs, Florida, October 15-18, 2015. The competition, which received 393 submissions, was RPLA’s fourteenth. Adults and Youth submitted entries in 30 adult genre-categories and 15 Youth categories, … Read More »

Join Us, But Not for the Reason You Think

Well well well. I happened upon an article by the University of Wisconsin-Madison’s Writers’ Institute about writers’ conferences. The topic was why authors should attend. Why indeed? Laurie Scheer, director of the Institute, offered seven reasons, all aligning with what FWA unearths in our yearly post-conference surveys. One reason in particular caught my eye. And it’s not what you’d expect. But first, the conference. Our conference. The 14th Annual Florida Writers Conference. And let’s focus on the Banquet for the … Read More »

Announcing the 2015 RPLA Finalists

And now, the list you’ve been waiting for: the 2015 Royal Palm Literary Award (RPLA) finalists, and the short and long works spanning the 45 genres that qualify them, in alphabetical order by author last name. The winners will be announced at the Royal Palm Literary Award Banquet at the Florida Writers Conference in October. 2015 RPLA Adult Finalists Sharon Olsen Abrams To Be One With The Sky Laura Andrews [writing as Elle Andrews Patt] Billie Mae Manteo Daco Auffenorde [writing … Read More »

Florida Book Awards

The Florida Writers Association is one of the co-sponsors of the Florida Book Awards. The Florida Book Awards has kicked off its tenth annual writing competition with a call for entries in nine categories. Established in 2006 and now the most comprehensive state book awards program in the nation, the contest recognizes and celebrates the year’s best books penned by Sunshine State residents with the exception of submissions to the Florida Nonfiction and Visual Arts categories, whose authors may live … Read More »

FWA Collection #7–Revisions: Stories of Starting Over Contest Winners

Another fabulous contest produced sixty winning authors bound for our seventh edition of FWA’s Collection – Revisions: Stories of Starting Over. Increasing the length of the contest from three-and-a-half months to four months, January 1st through April 30th, resulted in a total of 176 entries. This year 131 authors sent in one entry and 46 authors sent in two. Woohoo! We had ten poems entered into the contest. We are excited and pleased to announce two new records achieved in this year’s collection contest. … Read More »

1 2 3