Meet the Florida Writer of the Year

16th Annual Florida Writers Conference
“What A Character”
October 19 – 22 in Altamonte Springs, Florida
Photo Credit: Kelly Campbell

The Florida Writers Association begins a new tradition at the 16th Annual Florida Writers Conference October 19 -22, when it honors New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling thriller writer Steve Berry as the Florida Writer of the Year.

Steve lives in St, Augustine, Florida with his wife Elizabeth, and is the author of 12 Cotton Malone novels and four stand-alone thrillers. He launched his latest Cotton Malone book, The Lost Order, with a behind-the-scenes tour of the Smithsonian Castle, a building that figures prominently in the novel. His books have been translated into 40 languages with 21,000,000 copies in 51 countries. They consistently appear in the top echelon of The New York Times, USA Today, and Indie bestseller lists.

Steve will be the keynoter at the Friday, October 20 Welcome Dinner, be interviewed Saturday morning, followed by a booksigning, and present a two-hour craft of writing workshop Saturday afternoon titled, “The Six Cs of Story Structure — It’s Not Everything, It’s Absolutely Everything.”

History lies at the heart of every Steve Berry novel. It’s his passion, one he shares with his wife, Elizabeth, which led them to create History Matters, a foundation dedicated to historic preservation. Since 2009 Steve and Elizabeth have crossed the country to save endangered historic treasures, raising money via lectures, receptions, galas, luncheons, dinners and their popular writers workshops. To date, over 3,000 students have attended those workshops. In 2012 and 2013 Steve’s devotion to historic preservation was recognized by the American Library Association, which named Steve its spokesperson for National Preservation Week. Among his other honors are the Royden B. Davis Distinguished Author Award; the 2013 Barnes & Noble Writers for Writers Award given by Poets & Writers; the 2013 Anne Frank Human Writes Award; and the Silver Bullet, bestowed in 2013 by International Thriller Writers for his philanthropic work. A 2010 NPR survey named The Templar Legacy one of the top 100 thrillers ever written.

Joining Steve at the conference this year is National Guest of Honor David Morrell, who will also present the Florida Writers Foundation Celebrity Workshop on Thursday, October 19.

With ten agents and editors from leading agencies and publishers, over 70 sessions, the new First Page PitchFest, and the Royal Palm Literary Awards Banquet, the 2017 Florida Writers Conference is not to be missed.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email